Apply Yourself

 

Daily Prompt: Apply Yourself

Describe your last attempt to learn something that did not come easily to you

Well, for me, Spanish or any language for that matter, has be a challenge. I can memorize a few words, but to put it all together in a real sentence, is a different story.

We tried attending a free Spanish class in our neighborhood when we first moved to the “hood” we live in. What prompted us to was the fact we white English types where few and far between. It very much is like moving to a different country. The class for Melinda was great. the teacher couldn’t make it, but being its more like a group who get together to discuss grammar and the proper use of a verb, it was along my Latin writing wife’s alley. For me i never learned English grammar well.

I remember having the smallest book for grammar in grade school, and the smallest plumpest teacher. That was hard to get over. Our teacher didn’t explain, or i wasn’t listening. Even at that time  weed was smoked out side in the free times, so maybe it was more brainlessness on my part. This was in Florida

I was amazed when i got to a boarding school in Iowa, and took Latin, how much everyone else took for granted in grammar that i had know idea about. Declension ? subject?

So now you know why my blogging looks the way it is and my children ask if they can edit it.

Perennial plant propogator for Creekhill nursery. Over 40 years of experience with lots of plants from foliage, cut flowers, seasonal potted plants, annuals and perennials. A plant geek and nerd, i am

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
7 comments on “Apply Yourself
  1. Grace Haymes says:

    Ignore your children. Keep writing. Where do you get these cool prompts? I looked for prompts and they were either lame or disgusting…

  2. Peggy Griffin says:

    Just keep it rolling Joel. I can make out most of what you write….and it’s GOOD!!!

  3. Peggy Griffin says:

    I did much better when we studied literature than when we did grammar. Your writing is heart felt and thought provoking. Keep it up my friend!

  4. Emily says:

    don’t let your children touch it!! It’s you! I love your blog. I have been telling Matt about it. Hope he reads it sometime.

  5. artnip says:

    Great post! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
