daily prompt sweet 16

Daily Prompt today is about something I’m thinking about from a while… Sweet Sixteen

When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like

1972, I was finishing up ninth grade at Madeira JJunior High School in Florida. The counsoler got all of the class together to ask what vocations we wanted to pursue, So high school could be charted better. I spoke up” horticulture”, several of the girls on hearing horticulture turned around and wanted to sign up. They thought i ment something else, ; such was my school life then.

My mother properly sent me to a boarding school in Iowa to get me out of an environment that would have been unhealthy. The school i was sent too was a very good influence for me. I saw family units working and loving each other. I saw men being fathers and children respecting adults.

I thought at 16 while living in Florida that I would probably be a beach comber looking for women. And get a boat and fish and water ski. Life would have been good. There was always Mc Donalds . So my goals where not that great. I did know I would be in horticulture in some way. Really i wanted to be an estate gardener, I wanted to go through Longwood Gardens school. Or at least work with mt=y grandfather at greenhouses in Baltimore.

The school in Iowa? Restored my soul. I learned to think, understand eternal truth, and met my wife….it was a good place.

Perennial plant propogator for Creekhill nursery. Over 40 years of experience with lots of plants from foliage, cut flowers, seasonal potted plants, annuals and perennials. A plant geek and nerd, i am

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
