Daily Prompt: A Plot of Earth

Daily Prompt: A Plot of Earth

You’re given a plot of land and have the financial resources to do what you please. What’s the plan?

I’m a bit late on these daily prompts, but here is my answer to this one.

I have had this opportunity of a plot of ground available several times in my life this is how I used them:

In 1975 Me and dale where going tobe truck farmers out of Ronks Pa. we where growing lots of vegetables and making plans to market them. The dream came to an end when we were transfered to other facilities apart from each other.

In 1979 I was going to get this hill-top ground outside of Strasburg Pa. and start a vineyard, and bramble crops like raspberries. Had I the financial means I would have.

In 1984 I bought 500 strawberry plants to start a strawberry field. I had to move them , give them away because the company suddenly wanted to build on the ground. Had I the recourse I would have bought the company. This was Chester County Pa.

In 1990 I had use of great ground in Iowa, but I had to work to many jobs to make any resemblance of an end making it. I did grow ornamental grasses there and shipped them to a grower in Florida. had I the resources I would not have had to leave the place I could have had my nursery business making a profit.

In the year 2000 I had use of ground in Leola pa. I was using it to grow ornamental grasses again.  I did most of the work from when I got home from my day job till midnight or so. Had I the resources I could have made an economic go of it. the ground was sold and we had to move into Lancaster city.

Now that i’m 56 I am worn out. If I could wave a wand and make a piece of ground do what I wanted it would look like the best woods I’ve ever walk in, filled with trillium in the spring, there would be a small stream with clear clean water. a log cabin and a hot tub. And lots of pheasants and wild turleys to listen to.

 

Perennial plant propogator for Creekhill nursery. Over 40 years of experience with lots of plants from foliage, cut flowers, seasonal potted plants, annuals and perennials. A plant geek and nerd, i am

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in daily prompt, random thought

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
