Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After

“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there?

This could be a controversy here. I have my gut inner answer at the end. But the questions that come are not that easy and not that selfish. I have lived with the same women over 35 years and i would say I am happier now then I was.

But, really what are you asking by happiness? No hassles or problems or worries, or frustrations….dude this isn’t OZ. Life sucks a lot of the time, but it’s how you process the reality that makes “Mondays” palatable and turn into a content with circumstances.

I will say I am a christian and used to have this idea that all christian must always put on a smile and be all giddy with happy gushing flow. well that’s BS.

What is happily ever after, in the real world? Its being content with who you are where you are and with whom your with. Could that be it? In a general way yes I think. Yet I am annoyed a lot, and for me to wear a smile just because I’m a christian is bogus. I wear my emotions on my sleeve always. and it’s not alway contentment or satisfaction.  My christianity is placing someone else first (hopefully Jesus) and my own needs second. that wars against the notion of happy ever after, in our world today. It takes a lot of work to have my inner goal accomplish this feat. But it is the fabric of what makes one a christian!

 When my wife and I die they could say that about us, ” and they lived happily ever after” from their wedding date. Because of the over all flow of how we dealt with shattered dreams and there are many.

If you aren’t happy flight is never a solution, untill you have first changed your own thought patterns and reframed what is annoying you.

The answer: happiness is a gift from God…..all else is meaningless

Perennial plant propogator for Creekhill nursery. Over 40 years of experience with lots of plants from foliage, cut flowers, seasonal potted plants, annuals and perennials. A plant geek and nerd, i am

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in daily prompt, random thought, religion, resolutions
2 comments on “Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After
  1. mdiber05 says:

    He means “one womAn” 🙂

  2. Peggy Griffin says:

    As I’ve said before, happiness is dependent upon the circumstances of our lives. Joy is something that is far better…which is a gift from God…and which can exist in spite of our current circumstances. God never promised us happiness, but He DID promise us JOY in the Holy Spirit. I agree with you Joel that we can’t take flight if we are unhappy. But I think we should not focus so much on being “happy” but rather seek to be at peace…and joy will follow. BUT…I am SO glad that you have found happiness in the arms of your bride. And I would dare say that you’ve found joy as well.
    Love ya brother!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
