fitness over 50, cycling startup

The temp is over 55, so its becoming safe to venture this florida boy out on Pennsylvania’s roads. The chill is very much in the air in the mornings, but after work it’s not a debilitating frigid bike ride.

I rode home from work twice this week. A 7.5 mile and a ten-mile ride. I listened to Art Peper radio on the ride. I needed a healing ride, and it was. work is a tangle of frustrations so a good ride is just the ticket.

I have a Trek 800 so it’s a hybrid, not really a quick road bike. I did the ten-mile ride in 50 minutes. I discovered drinking chocolate milk gives a real boost to the energy and eating some left over pancakes on the fly is a good source of fuel, too.

I think this is my third year riding. The first times I did these routes I stopped a lot and gasped air and glugged water. Now its a smoother non stop, mostly, ride. Still gasping air as I ascend the hills. There are just enough hills for a good workout. They level off just in time before I die.

I still have punks on quicker bikes with younger legs passing me, but thatsok Im 56 going on 57 and I can still ride!

Perennial plant propogator for Creekhill nursery. Over 40 years of experience with lots of plants from foliage, cut flowers, seasonal potted plants, annuals and perennials. A plant geek and nerd, i am

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in fitness, resolutions

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
