fitness over 50 {now i’m 57}

Ok so I rode the Trek 800 bike home today from work, 10 miles in 59 minutes. Up hills, down hills, through a covered bridge, alongside the Conestoga river, down a busy route 23 and through some tight city streets. I actually felt great through it. I stopped for a swallow of chocolate milk at mile 7.

I had Art Pepper on the Pandora station so I was grooving in a mellow zone, I was able to keep the gearing on the tougher zones. Some day I’d like to try it with a real road bike.

My pace was 5.56 mile…….now I was moving along, and it wonders me, ( that’s a Lancaster county phrase for sure) for in High school I had to run a mile in 5.30 minutes, which I did.so is this not comparing apple to apples ……….?

Last week I did this ride also, and the next day I spent a two-hour marathon at the gym lifting weights. I was totally worn out the rest of the week. I feel good when I work out, but replenish of energy and muscles take a lot longer. I think I need two days rest between each big workout.

And I do all this so that I can drink chocolate milk, yum

 

Perennial plant propogator for Creekhill nursery. Over 40 years of experience with lots of plants from foliage, cut flowers, seasonal potted plants, annuals and perennials. A plant geek and nerd, i am

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in fitness, random thoughts

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
