Daily Prompt: Landscape

When you gaze out your window — real or figurative — do you see the forest first, or the trees?

I see the tree then I look at the forest surrounding. It’s the same way with seeing people. I see an individual then I see their baggage in a social context.

The details are shouting and reviewing the context. It’s not quite like Sherlock Holmes but similar.

Now for the true tree, I being a plant geek, see the individual tree. I am always looking for certain trees. The forest does not lose the individual tree for me. I look over a forest and pick out the different species that I know.

It all started at Longwood Gardens continuing educational courses.  Deciduous tree classes and small flowering trees, where two classes that formed my examining of the details. On Sundays my family would walk around Longwood weekly for a whole year. It soon became just me and my daughter mary who liked to just park on my foot and suck her thumb. I had this thing, staring at the details of the bark, tree canopy form, shape of buds the leaf margin and orientation, and any wild life within, including a myriad of insects, and birds; but the flowers I could just stare for great lengths of time.

I know I made an impact when all my kids can ride down a street and pick out the ginko bilobo to the eye roll of all their friends.

Perennial plant propogator for Creekhill nursery. Over 40 years of experience with lots of plants from foliage, cut flowers, seasonal potted plants, annuals and perennials. A plant geek and nerd, i am

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in daily prompt, gardening, random thoughts
One comment on “Daily Prompt: Landscape

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
