When I came to America

Bayern, Germany was my home.i was born 1824. In the United States John Quincy Adams was elected president.

During my schooling years and young adult hood there was a churning in my soul. And the surrounding countries,
Germany, France and England. New ideas where surfacing from karl marx. Germany herself was exploding with industrialization.

By 1830 there was a great imagration to the United States and elsewhere. For me I was in my early 50s before I went to the US. My wife Lucia, we where married in Germany. Bremen Germany, L ehe Germany where familiar towns. Our children Charlotte, Mamie, Anne, Frederica, William Ernst.all born in Bayern.

The sea called me. Sea life was hard, yet for me it was a social order and routine hardship that made my life unique. To many land side a sea man was a transient hoboe.

It was 1867 when we arrived in NewYork. Lady Liberty greated us with a hush aboard the ship. We had arrived, free to start anew journey. I was not happy anticipating my sea life coming to an end.

We made it to Baltimore, a harbor town famed for the birth of this land.

My son William loved the land and farming. We settled out in the country, farmed with many others from Germany.

I would never meet my great great grandson joel untill all of us ate together in eternaty.

Perennial plant propogator for Creekhill nursery. Over 40 years of experience with lots of plants from foliage, cut flowers, seasonal potted plants, annuals and perennials. A plant geek and nerd, i am

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “When I came to America
  1. jdibersenior says:

    Reblogged this on perennialwalk and commented:

    Julius Babikow

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
